DIE ANDEREN

By Anne-Cécile Vandalem

A small, isolated village somewhere in the middle of Europe on a rainy and gloomy autumn evening. It’s been raining frequently; in fact, unceasingly, for months. Alda V., who manages the “Old Continent” hotel with her husband René, runs over a boy on her way back from a meeting with the village headman – and to top it all, she’s steaming drunk thanks to all the booze served at the meeting. The boy is on the run and just wants to get out of there as quickly as possible. But he is injured and cannot be taken to hospital without Alda being busted. So he is treated in the village and hidden in the hotel. Soon the other villagers grow curious and suspicious; resentments, erotic longings, demands and revenge fantasies are all directed at the stranger who becomes embroiled in a variety of conflicting interests and asks himself many questions about the village: Why are there no children living there? By which rules do the few inhabitants co-exist? Why are they all so strangely wary? He begins to suspect that there is a dark secret.

Anne-Cécile Vandalem is an actress, director and writer. With her company “Das Fräulein” she develops her own stories in which the tragic, the grotesque and absurd humour combine to form their own, highly individual genre. Her previous two productions “Tristesses” and “Arctique” featured as part of FIND at the Schaubühne. “Die Anderen” (“The Others”) is her first work with the Schaubühne ensemble. Vandalem creates a ludicrous, tragicomically gloomy parable about otherness, living with unresolved questions, deep-seated trauma and repressed feelings of guilt – never without a subtle black humour.

Direction Anne-Cécile Vandalem
Set Design Karolien de Schepper, Christophe Engels
Costume Design Laurence Hermant
Director of Photography Federico d’Ambrosio
Video Guillaume Cailleau
Music Pierre Kissling
Dramaturgy Nils Haarmann
Lighting Design Erich Schneider

With Bernardo Arias Porras, Veronika Bachfischer, Jule Böwe, Stephanie Eidt, Felix Römer, Ruth Rosenfeld, David Ruland, Kay Bartholomäus Schulze
Camera Florian Baumgarten, Moritz von Dungern

Premieres on 28 November 2019

Co-production with Das Fräulein (Kompanie) – Brussels, Théâtre de Liège and Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg. In cooperation with the European Theatre Network PROSPERO.


In 2003, Anne-Cécile Vandalem began to create and write plays: ZAÏ ZAÏ ZAÏ ZAÏ (2003) and HANSEL ET GRETEL (2005) with Jean-Benoit Ugeux. Already, fiction is her preferred medium and her essential means of expression.

From 2008 to 2013, habitation plays a major role. The artist sees it as the perfect place of confinement, by which and with which everything happens. Starting from an ultra-realistic universe, Anne-Cécile defines the framework of domestic tragedies, within an individual frame with (SELF)SERVICE, a family one with HABIT(U)ATION and a collective one with AFTER THE WALLS (Utopia).

In 2011 she creates MICHEL DUPONT réinventer le contraire du monde (2011) a sound show for adults and teenagers.

In 2014, Anne-Cécile Vandalem began exploring the modalities of posture and imposture through two performative projects LOOKING FOR DYSTOPIA and WHAT CAN I DO FOR YOU?.

In 2015 Anne-Cécile creates a diptych about sadness:  STILL TO SAD TO TELL YOU (video installation) and TRISTESSES (theater performance).

ARCTIC (2018) is the second part of a Trilogy dealing with the end of humanity through the great failures of our time.

DIE ANDEREN

d’Anne-Cécile Vandalem

Un soir d’automne pluvieux et lugubre, dans un petit village isolé, quelque part au milieu de l’Europe. Il pleut fréquemment; en fait, sans cesse, pendant des mois. Alda V., tenancière de l’hôtel « La Vieille Europe », renverse un jeune garçon sur le bord de la route, en revenant de sa rencontre avec le chef du village – et pour couronner le tout, elle est ivre à cause de l’alcool servi au restaurant durant la réunion. Le garçon était en fuite et ne cherche qu’à s’en sortir le plus vite possible, mais il est blessé et ne peut être transporté à l’hôpital sans Alda. Il est donc soigné dans le village et caché à l’hôtel. Bientôt, les autres villageois deviennent curieux et méfiants; les ressentiments, les désirs érotiques, les exigences et les fantasmes de vengeance sont tous dirigés vers cet étranger qui s’immisce dans des intérêts divergents et se pose de nombreuses questions sur le village: pourquoi n’y a-t-il pas d’enfants? Selon quelles règles les quelques habitants coexistent-ils? Pourquoi sont-ils tous si étrangement méfiants? Il commence à soupçonner qu’il existe un sombre secret.

Anne-Cécile Vandalem est actrice, metteure en scène et auteure. Avec sa compagnie « Das Fräulein », elle développe ses propres histoires dans lesquelles l’humour tragique, le grotesque et l’absurde se combinent pour former leur propre genre, très individuel. Ses deux productions précédentes « Tristesses » et « Arctique » ont été présentées dans le cadre du festival FIND à la Schaubühne. « Die Anderen » (« Les Autres ») est son premier travail avec l’ensemble de la Schaubühne. Vandalem crée une parabole ridicule et tragicomiquement sombre sur l’altérité, sur des questions non résolues, sur des traumatismes profonds et sur des sentiments de culpabilité réprimés – mais pas sans un subtil humour noir.

Mise en scène Anne-Cécile Vandalem
Scénographie  Karolien de Schepper, Christophe Engels
Dramaturgie Nils Haarmann
Costumes Laurence Hermant
Photo Federico d’Ambrosio
Vidéo Guillaume Cailleau
Musique Pierre Kissling
Lumière Erich Schneider

Avec Bernardo Arias Porras, Veronika Bachfischer, Jule Böwe, Stephanie Eidt, Felix Römer, Ruth Rosenfeld, David Ruland, Kay Bartholomäus Schulze
Caméra Florian Baumgarten, Moritz von Dungern

Création le 28 novembre 2019

En coproduction avec Das Fräulein (Kompanie) – Bruxelles, Théâtre de Liège et Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg. En coopération avec le réseau de théâtre européen PROSPERO.


C’est en 2003 qu’Anne-Cécile Vandalem commence son travail d’écriture de spectacles avec ZAÏ ZAÏ ZAÏ ZAÏ (2003) et HANSEL ET GRETEL (2005) en collaboration avec Jean-Benoît Ugeux. Dès lors, la fiction est la forme de prédilection de l’autrice.

De 2008 à 2013, l’habitation y joue le rôle principal. Elle y est considérée comme le lieu de confinement par excellence, par lequel et avec lequel tout arrive. Partant d’un univers ultra-réaliste, elle a défini le cadre de tragédies domestiques à la fois individuelles avec (SELF)SERVICE (2008), familiales avec HABIT(U)ATION (2010) et collectives avec AFTER THE WALLS (Utopia) (2013). Ces spectacles constituent la Trilogie Des Parenthèses.

Parallèlement, elle crée MICHEL DUPONT réinventer le contraire du monde (2011), un spectacle sonore pour adultes et adolescents.

En 2014, Anne-Cécile Vandalem entame l’exploration des modalités de la posture et de l’imposture à travers deux projets performatifs LOOKING FOR DYSTOPIA (2014) et QUE PUIS-JE FAIRE POUR VOUS ? (2015).

En 2016, elle crée un diptyque sur la tristesse d’où sont issus l’installation vidéo STILL TO SAD TO TELL YOU et le spectacle TRISTESSES.

ARCTIQUE (2018) est le deuxième volet d’une Trilogie traitant de la fin de l’humanité au travers des grands échecs de notre temps.